News · Analysis

CySEC Warns Against 10 Unlicensed Investment Websites

◆ The short answer

The Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC) issued a notice dated 14 August 2026 naming ten websites it says are not tied to entities authorised to provide investment services under Cypriot law. According to CySEC, some of the names, including investiumlimited.com and m4-platform.com, closely resemble domains or trade names belonging to firms that are genuinely licensed, though the regulator's approved-domain register lists different web addresses for those entities. The regulator has not disclosed who operates the flagged sites. For traders, the notice is a reminder that a familiar-sounding brand name is not proof of authorisation, and that CySEC's public register remains the primary tool for checking a firm's licence number and approved domain before transferring funds.

Unauthorised trading and investment websites, some borrowing names or branding similar to regulated firms, remain a recurring feature of CySEC's supervisory bulletins. The regulator's latest notice, dated 14 August 2026, adds ten more names to that list and repeats its standing advice to investors: verify before you deal.

What happened

According to CySEC's notice of 14 August 2026, the regulator has warned against ten websites offering, or appearing to offer, investment services without authorisation in Cyprus. The sites named are m4-platform.com, m4-markets-latam.vercel.app, waltonmarketltd.com, investiumlimited.com, evercrest.capital, gofx.com, tazerpro.com, quantacfd.com, cypriantrustbank.com and omnixmarkets.com. CySEC said none of these domains belong to entities authorised to provide investment services or perform investment activities under Article 5 of Law 87(I)/2017, according to Finance Magnates' reporting on the notice.

Why it matters

What distinguishes this warning from a routine list is the apparent resemblance between some flagged names and existing regulated brands. Finance Magnates reported that CySEC's own register lists Investium Limited as a licensed Cyprus Investment Firm under licence number 421/22, but its approved domain is flexinvest.com rather than investiumlimited.com, the site named in the warning. Separately, the register lists www.m4markets.eu as the approved domain for Harindale Ltd, operator of the M4Markets trade name, while the warning names the unrelated domains m4-platform.com and m4-markets-latam.vercel.app. CySEC did not identify who operates the flagged sites, according to the report.

What it means for traders

The core lesson is that a plausible-sounding name, or one that echoes a recognised brand, offers no assurance of regulatory status. Firms operating outside CySEC's supervisory framework fall outside the investor protections that apply to licensed investment firms, the regulator has said. Before opening an account or transferring money, CySEC has repeatedly urged investors to consult its public register, which lists company names, licence numbers, approved domains and contact details for authorised entities. Readers assessing execution standards among regulated brokers more broadly may find our Best Execution Quality winners a useful point of comparison, though inclusion in that list carries no bearing on the firms named in this warning. Our methodology page sets out how such comparative assessments are constructed, which is a separate exercise from regulatory verification.

What to watch

CySEC has not disclosed further details on the operators behind the ten sites, and there is no independent confirmation beyond the regulator's notice and Finance Magnates' report of it. Investors should watch for any follow-up action, such as referrals to other regulators or law enforcement, which CySEC and peer authorities sometimes pursue after an initial warning. The recurrence of lookalike domains also suggests this is likely to remain a live issue, with further updates to CySEC's warning list plausible in the months ahead.

FAQ

Does CySEC's warning mean these websites are fraudulent? CySEC's notice states only that the ten websites are not tied to entities authorised to provide investment services under Cypriot law, according to the regulator's 14 August 2026 notice. It does not make further allegations about the operators' conduct.

Is Investium Limited, the licensed CIF, connected to investiumlimited.com? According to Finance Magnates' reporting on CySEC's register, Investium Limited's approved domain is flexinvest.com, not investiumlimited.com, the site named in the warning, indicating the two are not the same.

How can investors check if a broker is authorised? CySEC maintains a public register on its website listing licensed firms' names, licence numbers, approved domains and contact details, which the regulator has repeatedly advised investors to consult before dealing with any firm.

Trading forex and CFDs carries a high risk of loss; the majority of retail investor accounts lose money. This article is editorial and is not financial advice.
← All articles